Best AI Coding Bootcamps for Teens (2026)
“AI coding bootcamp” now covers everything from a self-paced video library to a week on a university campus. We read each provider’s own program page and wrote down what it actually says: ages, format, group size, hours, price and which AI tools students use. Where a provider does not publish something, we say so rather than guess.
Quick comparison
| Program | Ages | Format | Group size | Length | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NextGen Bootcamp | High school (college students also accepted) | Live online, or self-paced with instructor access | Typically 8–15 students | 30 hours | $1,499 |
| Inspirit AI | Grades 9–12 | Live, small group | 5:1 student-teacher ratio | 25 hours (10 sessions of 2.5 hours) | $1,400 |
| iD Tech | 13–17 | Live, small group | Small groups (ratio not stated on the page) | One week, 8 hours a day | From $1,199 |
| Create & Learn | Grades 6–12 | Live, small group | 2–3 students | 12 sessions of 70 minutes | $485.55 (listed as 17% off $585) |
| Code With Us | 10–18 (Agentic AI track 13–18) | Live group classes | Not published | 42 lessons per course | Not published on the program page |
| Codingal | 12–17 (grades 8–12) | Live, private 1-on-1 | 1-on-1 | 48 sessions of 45 minutes | Not published on the course page |
| CodaKid | 8+ on most courses | Self-paced, private 1-on-1, or group camps | 1-on-1 for private lessons; camp size not published | Self-paced library; camps are one week, 2 hours a day | Self-paced $29/month; private lessons from $249/month |
| theCoderSchool | 10+ | Live, in person | 6:1 typical ratio | Not published on the camp page | Set by each location |
| Camp Vibe Code | Grades 3–12 | Live, in person | Not published | Intro program runs one week | Not published |
| Redwood Academy (ours) | 14–18 | Live, small group | Max 6 students | 18 hours (Fall: 9 sessions of 2 hours; Spring: 12 of 90 minutes) | $648, or $540 early bird (Fall until Oct 16, Spring until Dec 15, 2026) |
Prices in US dollars as listed by each provider on September 28, 2026. Full details and sources for each program are below.
How to choose
1. In person or online
In-person camps such as iD Tech, theCoderSchool and Camp Vibe Code give a full, social week, but only where they have a site. Online programs work from any time zone and usually run weekly across a term, which suits a student building one project steadily.
2. Live teaching or self-paced
Self-paced libraries are the cheapest option and work for self-starters. Most teens get further with a live instructor who can look at their code when they are stuck. Check whether “live” means a small group, a larger class, or 1-on-1.
3. Group size
The published sizes above range from 1-on-1 to 8–15 students. Smaller groups mean more time with the instructor on your child’s own code.
4. Whose account runs the AI tool
Claude Code and Cursor require account holders to be 18 or older, with no route for minors to hold their own account. Other tools, such as GitHub Copilot and Replit, allow teens from 13. If a program uses an 18+ tool with under-18s, ask whose account it runs on and how students are supervised. Our AI coding tools age-requirements directory lists the rules for every major tool, with sources.
5. Whether the student has to understand the code
AI tools make it easy to finish a project without learning much. In a January 2026 study by Anthropic, developers who handed code-writing to AI scored lower on a later skills quiz, with the biggest gap in debugging. Ask each provider how they check that a student can explain, test and fix what the AI produced.
6. What your child ends up with
Look for a finished, working project your child can show and talk about: a deployed app, a research project, or a portfolio site. That is more useful for competitions and applications than a certificate on its own.
The programs in detail
NextGen Bootcamp: AI Coding Bootcamp with Claude Code
- Ages: High school (college students also accepted)
- Format: Online. Live online, or self-paced with instructor access.
- Group size: Typically 8–15 students
- Length: 30 hours
- Price: $1,499
- Dates: Live cohort not currently scheduled; self-paced starts any time
- AI tools: Claude Code
Best for: Teens who want a longer course built entirely around Claude Code, with a self-paced option.
Source: NextGen Bootcamp program page, checked September 28, 2026Inspirit AI: AI Scholars (Live Online)
- Ages: Grades 9–12
- Format: Online. Live, small group.
- Group size: 5:1 student-teacher ratio
- Length: 25 hours (10 sessions of 2.5 hours)
- Price: $1,400
- Dates: Fall: Sundays Oct 11 – Dec 13, 2026 or Tuesdays Oct 13 – Dec 15, 2026. Winter: daily Dec 19–30, 2026 or Dec 26, 2026 – Jan 5, 2027
- AI tools: Python and OpenAI models
Best for: High schoolers who want AI concepts, Python and a social-impact project taught by graduate-student instructors.
Source: Inspirit AI program page, checked September 28, 2026iD Tech: Python Coding & AI Agents
- Ages: 13–17
- Format: In person, on university campuses. Live, small group.
- Group size: Small groups (ratio not stated on the page)
- Length: One week, 8 hours a day
- Price: From $1,199
- Dates: Summer; Summer 2027 registration opens November 8
- AI tools: Python, OpenAI and ChatGPT
Best for: Families who want an in-person summer week on a campus.
Source: iD Tech program page, checked September 28, 2026Create & Learn: AI Creators
- Ages: Grades 6–12
- Format: Online. Live, small group.
- Group size: 2–3 students
- Length: 12 sessions of 70 minutes
- Price: $485.55 (listed as 17% off $585)
- Dates: Choose from scheduled times or request one
- AI tools: Python, Google Vision API, OpenAI API, Stable Diffusion
Best for: Students who already know some Python and want to build with AI APIs in a very small group.
Requires prior Python.
Source: Create & Learn program page, checked September 28, 2026Code With Us: AI programs for students
- Ages: 10–18 (Agentic AI track 13–18)
- Format: Online. Live group classes.
- Group size: Not published
- Length: 42 lessons per course
- Price: Not published on the program page
- Dates: Year-round, seven days a week
- AI tools: ChatGPT, Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and others
Best for: Families who want year-round, flexible scheduling and a long multi-tool curriculum.
Source: Code With Us program page, checked September 28, 2026Codingal: AI & Machine Learning (AI Expert level)
- Ages: 12–17 (grades 8–12)
- Format: Online. Live, private 1-on-1.
- Group size: 1-on-1
- Length: 48 sessions of 45 minutes
- Price: Not published on the course page
- Dates: Flexible; about 4–6 months at two classes a week
- AI tools: Python, ChatGPT and Gemini APIs, Hugging Face, Google AI Studio
Best for: Students who want a private tutor and a months-long, steady pace.
Source: Codingal program page, checked September 28, 2026CodaKid: AI classes
- Ages: 8+ on most courses
- Format: Online. Self-paced, private 1-on-1, or group camps.
- Group size: 1-on-1 for private lessons; camp size not published
- Length: Self-paced library; camps are one week, 2 hours a day
- Price: Self-paced $29/month; private lessons from $249/month
- Dates: Self-paced any time; camps in summer
- AI tools: LLMs and AI apps; one course uses the Gemini API
Best for: Budget-conscious families and self-motivated students who like working through video lessons.
Source: CodaKid program page, checked September 28, 2026theCoderSchool: Vibe Coding Camp
- Ages: 10+
- Format: In person (Palo Alto, San Mateo, Bayside NY, Tribeca NY). Live, in person.
- Group size: 6:1 typical ratio
- Length: Not published on the camp page
- Price: Set by each location
- Dates: Set by each location
- AI tools: Lovable and Bolt
Best for: Families near one of those four locations who want an in-person week with a demo day.
Source: theCoderSchool program page, checked September 28, 2026Camp Vibe Code: Camps and after-school programs
- Ages: Grades 3–12
- Format: In person, in Los Angeles and at partner schools. Live, in person.
- Group size: Not published
- Length: Intro program runs one week
- Price: Not published
- Dates: Not published
- AI tools: For older students: Claude Code, Google Antigravity, Vercel
Best for: Los Angeles families, or schools that want an AI coding program run on their campus.
Their site blocked our automated check, so these details come from the site's own search listing.
Source: Camp Vibe Code program page, checked September 28, 2026Redwood Academy (ours): Claude Code Bootcamp
- Ages: 14–18
- Format: Online. Live, small group.
- Group size: Max 6 students
- Length: 18 hours (Fall: 9 sessions of 2 hours; Spring: 12 of 90 minutes)
- Price: $648, or $540 early bird (Fall until Oct 16, Spring until Dec 15, 2026)
- Dates: Fri–Sun. Fall: Oct 23 – Dec 20, 2026. Spring: Jan 8 – Apr 4, 2027
- AI tools: Claude Code, VS Code, git and Supabase, on school-operated accounts
Best for: Teens who want a term-long course in a small group and a deployed, database-backed app at the end.
Checked and left out
- Juni Learning: junilearning.com now redirects to acely.com, a different product. We could not find a current Juni AI course to compare.
- Codingal’s AI Code 101: aimed at grades 1–5, so it is not a teen bootcamp. We listed its AI & Machine Learning course instead.
Questions parents ask
What is an AI coding bootcamp for teens?
A short, structured course where students build software with AI coding tools: they describe what they want, the AI drafts code, and the student reviews, tests and changes it. The good ones still teach enough fundamentals for the student to understand what the AI wrote.
Can a teenager use Claude Code or Cursor?
Not on their own account. Both require account holders to be 18 or older. A program that uses them with under-18s should explain whose account the tool runs on and how the student is supervised. Our age-requirements directory lists the rules for every major tool.
Online or in person?
In-person camps give a full-day, social week but only run where the provider has a site. Online programs reach any time zone and usually run weekly across a term, which suits students who want to build one project steadily.
How much should an AI coding bootcamp cost?
Among the programs above that publish prices, live group courses run from about $485 to $1,500. Self-paced libraries cost far less per month, and private 1-on-1 lessons usually cost more per hour.